Reports‎ > ‎

Tullaroan Ends Minors League Run

posted 27 Oct 2012, 07:55 by Unknown user   [ updated 27 Oct 2012, 07:57 ]
Kilkenny Honda Centre Minor Hurling League Roinn C (22/07/2012)
Young Irelands 0-8      Tullaroan 2-12
The minors year came to an end in Palmerstown after defeat to a Tullaroan side who had already won the Minor Roinn C Championship earlier in the year. Though only 4 points stood between the teams at half time an early flurry of scores from Tullaroan in the second half left Irelands with a mammoth uphill task.
Both sides started well with Gowran scores from two points from Paul Delehaunty including one great score from a tight angle and three fine frees from JP Treacy, one almost on the sideline from all of 65 metres. Despite this Tullaroan had managed to notch 5 points in the equivalent space of time but had a penalty saved off the line. A Delahaunty point (16mins) and a Treacy free (18mins) meant the scoreline read 0-5 apiece with just under 20 minutes played. Then a killer blow arrived when Tullaroan found the net on 20 minutes and added a free 2 minutes later. Delehaunty notched a third point (22mins) but this was cancelled out by a Tullaroan point before the break to leave the scoreline 0-6 to 1-7 in favour of Tullaroan.
The game decisive period came within 3 minutes of the break when Tullaroan pounced for their second goal of the game and followed this by three points to leave them leading by 10 points after 15 minutes in the second half. The Young Irelanders never gave up, throwing everything forward. Although fine scores from Nathan Cahill and Gearoid Kennedy were matched by Tullaroan scores they had a number of shots cleared off the line or blocked by the last line of defence before the final whistle blew.
This result brings an end to the year for the minors. A huge thank you the management team of Cathal Fitzgerald, Mick Lynch and James Brien for all of their work throughout the year.

Team; Ted Drea, Bill Brennan, Philip Dreelan, Jaime O'Brien, Sean Lynch, JP Treacy, Sean Roche, Sean O'Neill, Gearoid Kennedy, Geoff Brennan, Paul Delehaunty, Liam Drea, Nathan Cahill, Sean Farrell, Michael Lennon subs; Brian Rudkins, Kevin Brennan, Jeremy Farrell Unavailable; Peter Hutchinson, Sean Carey, Michael Dunne