Reports‎ > ‎

U21's Suffer Repeated Final Heartache

posted 16 Dec 2012, 10:18 by Unknown user   [ updated 18 Dec 2012, 16:26 ]

JJ Kavanagh and Son North Under-21 B H.C. 
Young Irelands 0 - 12 Fenians 1 - 13

Despite a huge team effort and a spirited second half performance the u21's suffered a a repeat of last years loss in the northern u21 final. Gowran were slow to start and took almost 20 minutes to open their account though a Paul Holden 65'. By that time Fenians had racked up five points of their own, three coming from placed balls. Gowran also suffered a blow as Paul Delahanty was forced off through injury. Fenians finished the half with three more scores, two fine long distance points and another free. In the same time Young Irelands added two more Paul Holden frees to leave Gowran trailing by five points at the break, Young Irelands 0 - 3 Fenians 0 - 8.
Gowran came out in the second half with added vigour and registered their first score from play through Niall Walsh. Fenians replied but Paul Holden landed a further free and Sean Kehoe pointed from the left. This narrowed the score to three points and was to be the closest the Gowran men would get to Fenians. Gowran were given a sucker punch when a half hooked effort from 30 yards evaded everyone to land in the back of the net putting Fenians six up. With every mistimed tackle being punished by some fine free taking from Fenians the Gowran men seemed to find it harder to come by scores but none the less they fought back with points from John Morris, Paul Holden (0-4, 2f, 1 65') and Gearoid Kennedy before the finish. Fenians had added a further two points themselves giving them a four point victory.
A huge effort was made by both the panel and management team of Martin Carey, Alan Roche, Ciaran Carroll and John Comerford but unfortunately the title evaded them yet again. Despite the result all those eligible again next year will be looking forward with a positive attitude and will be aiming to buck the current trend.

Team; Peter Hutchinson, Patrick Drennan, Jack Glendon, Philip Dreeling, Eoin Walsh, Paul Holden (0-8, 5f, 2 65'), Emmett Byrne, John Morris (0-1), JP Treacy, Paul Delahanty, Niall Walsh (0-1), Sean Kehoe (0-1), Gearoid Kennedy (0-1), Chris Nolan, Declan Bennett
Subs; Sean Farrell for Paul Delehanty, Liam Drea, Sean Lynch, Bill Brennan, Michael Dunne, Sean O'Neill, Sean Carey